Latest Blog Article: Interstitial cystitis is more of an injury to the bladder

Sodium Bicarbonate shortage?!

Hi all,
    My MD is ordering the ingredients for home instillations. I work in a hospital and know that there is a Sodium Bicarbonate shortage, so trying to find a pharmacy that carries everything I need has been exhausting!! Does anyone else have problems with obtaining the rescue instillation ingredients? (Sodium bicarbonate, lidocaine, solucortef, heparin).
    Thanks!
    Please do not take my responses or posts as medical advice. I am learning too!
    Diagnosed in 2006 (But have had symptoms since 1987)
    Endometriosis/Ovarian Cysts/Ovarian tumor--total hysterectomy
    Multiple hospitalizations with pylonephritis
    "thousands" of "uti's" (or least it seems like it)
    For my IC/Pelvic floor dysfunction:
    Botox injections in pelvic floor
    Elmiron
    Singulair
    Nortriptyline
    Oxybutynin
    Valium
    Skelaxin
    UTA
    Prelief
    Physical Therapy twice a week
    TENS unit
    Baking Soda
    IC Diet
    I also have a Lapband, so my diet is even MORE limited!

Yes, I have not been able to get any from a pharmacy since February! My doctor's office has given me bottles from their stock for the last 5 months, but they now don't have any more to give me and they say they can't order any either. Same boat as me. I tried every local pharmacy and my mail order pharmacy - none to be found anywhere.

So, I found a fairly local sterile compounding pharmacy & my doctor just gave them the prescription. Then there was a lot of discussion. They wanted to put alcohol in it as a preservative! Imagine the ouch. My doctor had to promise them I would keep it in the fridge after opening it & would use it up within a few days. It should arrive by mail next week. I'll let you guys know how it works out...

I think sterile compounding pharmacies might be it for awhile. The shortage has no end in sight for the 8.4% sodium bicarbonate that I use...