ICN Member

UTI gone but still in pain

hi there,

i was diagnosed with IC 6 months ago after years of taking antibiotics as preventative measure for supposed cystitis before i had a cystoscopy which initially made my symptoms 100% worse.

since being diagnosed i haven't had a UTI, some bad flares but i can normally put that down to be misbehaving and straying from the IC diet. Got the start of a UTI last week (im a nurse and i checked my urine at work and it had a bit of everything in it) so i took a few days worth of antibiotics that my uro advised for UTI's. Rechecked my urine last night and it seemed clear but i feel like it hasn't gone!

Still got bladder pain/running to the loo hourly at best. Is there anything that anyone can suggest to help my upset bladder settle again? i feel like i did before the IC was diagnosed. I was in tears this morning at work as it was so sore and my boss was not the most symathetic (noone i know has heard of IC and i think they think i am just over exadurating)

Any suggestions to help me feel more normal again would be wonderful.

x

Tablets - detrusitol 4mg daily, amitriptyline 20mg nightly

Last fall I had a UTI that was cleared up with antibiotics but I still had some left over pain/frequency. My doc gave me a bunch of samples of Prosed DS - loved it. I had to take it for about 2-3 weeks until my poor bladder felt better, but it did numb things and make it bearable.
    Tina

Officially diagnosed with Moderate to Severe IC in June, 2008 via cysto/hydro.

Currently Taking Elmiron (2xday), Hydroxyzine/Atarax (10 mg at bedtime), and Vesicare (10 mg at night).

ICN Member
    I find that I have to be careful with my diet for at least a month after a UTI. Its been about that for me now and I thought I could sneak a tiny cup of coffee yesterday morning after being pretty good for the last several weeks. Wouldn't you know it - about an hour or so afterwards I started to get that old urge feeling again.