Latest Blog Article: Special Orange County IC Support Group Event - Sept 21, 2014

I'm a newbie; UTI symptoms with period?

Hello all,

I have been having some rather strange symptoms, and being the wonderfully informative group that you are, I was wondering if you could give me any insight into what they could mean or if they indicate IC. Thank you for taking the time to read this, I know it's lengthy.

I'm 21 years old with a history of UTI's. I had my first one when I was very young, which led to a rather severe kidney infection, but from that period on I was UTI free until I was about 17. Since then, I would say I get anywhere from 1-3 UTI's a year. I am aware of ways to ward them off and I take all the precautionary measures to keep them at bay (i.e. no thongs, urinating after intercourse, copious amounts of pure cranberry juice, etc.) and I feel like for the most part, these measures have reduced my UTI's to about once a year.

Having had a number of UTI's, I have become very accustomed to that "vague" feeling you get right before the more painful symptoms set in. What is strange, is I seem to be getting this same vague feeling right before and during my period. This has happened twice. Last month I thought it indicated a UTI, so I was put on Bactrim (which has cleared my infections in the past), however even after five days, Bactrim had done nothing for this strange feeling and my frequency of peeing. Never was there any pain when I would urinate, but I would still feel pressure and the slight urge to urinate even after I had just gone. I had a different set of antibiotics prescribed to me, and within a few days my symptoms and any vague feelings had subsided. This also corresponded to the end of my period.