Latest Blog Article: ICN E-Newsletter - October 24, 2014 - New IC Treatment Guidelines Released, Clinical Trial, Research & Clinic News
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

what kind of candy can you eat?

I'm new to IC and on an elimination diet. I haven't seen anywhere what kind of candy I can have except white chocolate, which I don't much care for. What kind of candy might be okay for IC? I particularly love gummy fruit candy, but it all seems to have acid in it.

Hey square mom they have something called Carob at the health food stores you should be able to eat. It is chocolate for us who can't have choc, but I personally don't care for it much. I not big into choc except during certain times of the month so I really don't suffer much from doing without.(just kidding) I cheat and pay for it at the times when I need a choc fix but my IC isn't so bad right now. (knock on wood). Some people really like the Carob so give it a try you might find you like it...
    Good luck Cinder

I grew up in a health food store, and I do love carob!

I can eat Kraft caramel squares and Sugar Babies (coated caramel candies). I eat the heck out of carob! I absolutely love it! I make brownies with it at home, and a hot carob drink which tastes alot like hot chocolate. White chocolate flares me up something aweful.
    Jeannie

The Lord your God is the faithful God who for a thousand generations keeps his promises.

Deuteronomy 7:9

I can eat white chocolate KitKats if I drink milk & take 2-3 Preliefs.
    I can eat candy corn, with Prelief.
    I can also eat carob malt balls, available here for sale in the ICN store.
    I can also eat black licorice, also available here in ICN store or I can eat Panda brand, nice & chewy. (I get it at Trader Joe's)
    Not exactly candy, but I can eat caramel popcorn and vanilla meringue cookies (from Trader Joe's)

My favorite candy used to be jelly beans, but haven't found any without citric acid...
    Kadi