PDA

View Full Version : Why Does Lifting or Exercise Cause a Flare?

kingofpain
10-18-2008, 08:13 AM
I have been keeping a pain journal.
As I look back, it never fails that when I do anything that involves lifting, or squatting (cleaning out the boilerroom after a water leak), I get weeks of
"10" level pain in my urethral burning.
I just don't understand why?

Sheila6830
10-18-2008, 09:32 AM
Me too! I have been doing pretty well for the past several weeks and all of a sudden this week my pain has returned. I realized today that I worked out 4 or 5 days this week, so now my bladder hurts. Its very frustrating. I feel like I can't do anything.

bluetou
10-18-2008, 10:12 AM
I am in the same situation. I work in the fitness industry. Thankgod I teach yoga and it is gentle and I lead the class, so my class depends on my bladder pain.

I do know I also lead a fitness weight and band class, and anytime I involve strenious work to the abs, or lifting heavier weights....my bladder is DONE/sore....ugh.

Just today I said to my husband I am so frustrated with my bladder pain, and how it effects everything I do. I thought I had it all under control and then I try to get back to a normal lifestyle (including the ic diet), but meaning my work...and BOOM! gets me again....

I know right now it does not help that I am on my cycle.....as for me it is also very hormonal.....ugh!

:pray:Peace

1curly1
10-18-2008, 12:31 PM
I am wondering if sweat and/or too much movement causes irritation of the bladder. Maybe it makes the lining shed faster?? This sounds like a complicated matter that maybe an IC doctor would have an answer for.

1curly1
10-18-2008, 12:40 PM