PDA

View Full Version : How long can you safely wear a tens?

mom_in_ma
11-29-2007, 12:52 PM
I just got a tens this week and really like it. How long can you safely wear it? I wore it all day today. Is that ok?

callie0767
11-29-2007, 02:01 PM
i am new at tens too- my pt told me to wear it for an hour then when i feel the pain returning to put it on again for another hour etc. she said that wearing it too much might nake it less likely to work. i hope this helps.

GriffsMommy
11-29-2007, 02:21 PM
I just started using one at my PT appointments. I'm not sure if it's working or not so we haven't decided if I'm going to get one to use at home. She only had it set to 4.5 and it really started to sting and I had to keep turning it down and then finally off after 15 minutes. That's the longest she kept it on me but I only have an hour or so appointment. She has me use the TENS when I'm doing my heat on my back and hips and then takes it off and does the back masage and then my biofeed back.
Where are you placing your electrodes? She's putting mine on my back. I'm wondering if on the front for the bladder would help the bladder more.

Bessie
11-29-2007, 02:29 PM
I am using mine right now. I have 2 different ones. I have one that has 4 electrodes on it and the other one is a wrap and the electrodes are in the belt wrap. The belt wrap places the electrodes on my back and it is more of a muscle contraction. The other one has 4 electrodes that I can place anywhere. I have them placed on my abdomen and my upper thighs. Sometimes I put them on my back. You just have to try different areas to see what helps the most. I also put them on my back and my Doctor's instructions where to use them as necessary as much as I felt comfortable with them. I think they help and it does help to distract you from the pain....at least for a short time.
I just looked at the names and the one with the 4 electodes is a RS-Tens Plus and the belt wrap one is called Rs Medical RS-2m- Muscle Stimulator.