PDA

View Full Version : self catheterization

lexur
09-01-2005, 03:13 AM
hi...I'n a 23 and was diagnosed a year ago and been through a 2 rounds of DMSO. They just did a heparin instill and a biopsy and now they're telling me they're not sure what I've got...To make a long story short, I just started self-cath-ing...

My questions: Has anyone started to self-cath and now doesn't? Is this something I will be doing from now on??? How should I store my tubes...they've given me two for a month....???

ICNDonna
09-01-2005, 04:39 AM
I rarely have to cath any more. The way I store my catheters is to wash and rinse thoroughly with antibacterial soap, then wrap in a clean wash cloth that has been washed with clorine in the water. And I wash again before using.

Donna

Imustpee
09-01-2005, 04:48 AM
I have been self cathing more and more these last 2 months...9 times since last Friday...

lexur
09-01-2005, 06:41 AM
thanks guys....since I'm new to this....How much are catheters? Is there one better than the other? Are there pre-lubricated caths? Does insurance cover the price of stuff like this??

bikergirl47
09-01-2005, 07:06 AM
Hi There Have Ic For 20 Years Had Bladder Rebuilt Cath Every 4 Hrs. I Have The Best Insurance From The Union And No Theu Dont Pay For Catereds. Its A Real Pain. I Have Had Every Treatmeny Out There. And I Am Still Bad So I Am Going Tohave My Bladder Out Soon. Its Real Important To Keep Cath Clean If You Start To Get Infections Dont Reuse The Same Cath Always Wear Gloves. I Get Uti All Thetime No Fun. Good Luck. ? Why Are You Having To Cath ? I Am Very Concerned Please Let Me Know. I Have Had Dmso Lots Of Times. I Only Cath Now Because My Rebuilt Bladder Wont Empty On Its Own And If Urine Stay In There It Will Cause Infection. Hugs Darlene

lexur
09-01-2005, 07:17 AM
I just started self-cathing yesterday...