PDA

View Full Version : Bladder not Emptying

HillaryD
03-14-2004, 06:42 AM
Is it common to have your bladder not empty all the way with IC? I am new to IC and was diagnosed with it only a couple of weeks ago, so I am still learning about it. I know my bladder is not emptying all the way because when I go to the bathroom I can barely get anything to come out. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
:confused:

ICNDonna
03-14-2004, 06:50 AM
One of the worst things about IC is that sometimes the bladder just doesn't like urine at all --- if you're going to the bathroom very frequently, it may be that there just isn't much there.

If you feel you're retaining, I do suggest you talk to your doctor about this. One thing they can do is to have you urinate, then catheterize you to see how much urine is retained.

Sending warm healing thoughts,
Donna

Kathi
03-14-2004, 08:08 AM
Yup! retention stinks. Donna is right, please call the doc & let hime know. Wecome to the ICN :D Kathi

HillaryD
03-14-2004, 08:42 AM
Thank you! I go to my Urologist on Tuesday and will bring it up, along with the fact that my skin on my face is also becoming SO dry and flaky. I am so grateful to have everyone here to talk with!
kissing

Susan2
03-15-2004, 04:12 AM
Hi HIllary,
I am embrassed to write this, but..... it helps a little.
I sit on the commode on one hip, and pull my self apart as much as I can and it works sometimes.
My face is red, but any help I can get I appreciate it. I hope you understand what I am saying.
HUGS
SUSAN

HillaryD
03-15-2004, 04:17 AM
Susan,
Don't be embarrased. I appreciate your suggestion, and I will try it the next time I have to run to the bathroon! Thanks for your advice!
grouphug

Sarojini
03-15-2004, 05:15 AM
I feel your pain... I have some retention too. Definitely mention your possible retention to your urologist.